The Fountain of Strength has never been removed from the charming triangular square at one end of the street called Court-Chemin, where it was originally placed. The statue is an allegory of the cardinal virtue of strength ("Fortitudo").
The nearby low, curvilinear, tufa wall probably dates from the sixteenth century and the fountain's bronze spouts the eighteenth century. The column's shaft is decorated with arabesques on its lower half and fluted on its upper half; the Corinthian capital with flowers and cherub heads. The right arm of Strength, armoured and helmeted, is wrapped around a broken column and her left foot placed on the fallen capital. The charm of this statue (1549-1550) is found in its plastic qualities and expression.