To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Joseph Deiss

Fribourg Tourisme et Région
Place Jean-Tinguely 1
1701 Fribourg

+41 26 350 11 11

www.fribourgtourisme.ch

A prominent figure in Fribourg politics, Joseph Deiss represented the canton of Friboug on the Federal Council from 1999 to 2006, first as head of the Foreign Affairs Department, then as head of the Department of the Economy.

Born in Fribourg in 1946, Joseph Deiss studied at the Collège St Michel, then at Fribourg University where, in 1971, he passed a PhD in Economical and Social Sciences. After a time at Cambridge University, where he devoted himself to research, he became, successively, a lecturer at Fribourg University, a full professor, then Dean of the Faculty of Economica and Social Sciences.

His has pursued his political career in the Christian Democrat party. He had a seat on Fribourg's Grand Council from 1981 to 1991. From 1982 to 1996, he was also mayor of his commune Barberêche. From 1991-1999, he sat on the National Council, before being elected, in 1999, to the Federal Council at the head of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs. From 2004 until his "surprise" resignation in 2006, he was once again in charge of the Federal Department of the Economy.

Fribourg Tourisme et Région
Place Jean-Tinguely 1
1701 Fribourg

+41 26 350 11 11

www.fribourgtourisme.ch

External links

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

Joseph Deiss

Fribourg Tourisme et Région
Place Jean-Tinguely 1
1701 Fribourg

+41 26 350 11 11

www.fribourgtourisme.ch

Die Persönlichkeit von Joseph Deiss prägte die Freiburger Politik. Mit ihm war der Kanton von 1999 bis 2006 im Bundesrat vertreten, zuerst an der Spitze des Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten und danach des Volkswirtschaftsdepartements.

Der 1946 in Freiburg geborene Joseph Deiss studierte am Kollegium St. Michael und danach an der Universität Freiburg, wo er 1971 in Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften promovierte. Nach einem Aufenthalt an der Universität Cambridge, wo er sich der Forschung widmete, wurde er nacheinander Lehrbeauftragter an der Uni Freiburg, ordentlicher Professor und Dekan der Fakultät für Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften.

Seine politische Laufbahn verwirklichte er in der Christlichdemokratischen Volkspartei. Von 1981 bis 1991 gehört er dem Freiburger Grossrat an, 1982 bis 1996 übernimmt er auch das Präsidium seiner Gemeinde Barberêche. Von 1991-1999 sitzt er im Nationalrat und wird 1999 in den Bundesrat gewählt, wo er das Eidgenössische Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten übernimmt. Von 2004 bis zu seinem Rücktritt im Jahr 2006 leitet er das Eidgenössische Volkswirtschaftsdepartement. .

Fribourg Tourisme et Région
Place Jean-Tinguely 1
1701 Fribourg

+41 26 350 11 11

www.fribourgtourisme.ch

Externe Links

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren