Everyone in Fribourg knows the funicular as one of the town's curiosities. The line was opened in 1899 and links the town centre to the Basse-Ville (the lower area of the town).
The Funicular is out of order from September 17 to October 5, 2018 for the annual maintenance works.
The Fribourg funicular is a listed historical monument and unique in Europe... it is actually one of the last one to run on waste water from the town, which is used thanks to a system of counterweights.
The creaking and clattering of the rack of the hundred-year old machine is obviously worth seeing, especially as it will take you deep into the soul of the town. The funicular was - and still is - the link between the "Basse-Ville" and the centre of Fribourg. History and modernity... a true symbol!
The funicular connects the old town (Neuveville and Auge districts) to the center
Departure according to demand every 6 minutes.
Ride: 2 minutes
|Ticket zone 10 (valid 1 hour)||2.90 CHF|