Corpus Christi

In Fribourg, in both the city and the countryside, Corpus Christi is a big celebration. Altars are set up on elaborately decorated altars of repose.

5/31/18

After Mass, a procession starts out. The children who have taken their first communion that year are honoured, walking behind the priest (the Bishop of Fribourg) who makes his way forth step by solemn step, monstrance in hand. Then there is the local brass band and the political authorities. The procession stops in front of each altar to pray and sing and then returns to the church. Fête-Dieu in French and Fronleichnam in German, the Feast of the Body of Christ was instituted by Pope Urban IV in 1264. Its purpose is to thank God solemnly for the Sacrement (60 days after Eastern).
plan
Satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Weather forecastfor
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Fête-Dieu

La Fête-Dieu est un jour férié à Fribourg et représente, en ville et à la campagne, une très grande fête. Des autels sont dressés sur des reposoirs décorés avec grand soin, à travers la localité.

31/05/2018

Une procession se met en marche, après la messe. Les premiers communiants de l'année sont à l'honneur et défilent auprès du curé (l'Evêque à Fribourg) qui s'avance d'un pas solennel, portant l'ostensoir. Viennent ensuite fanfare et autorités politiques. Le cortège s'arrête devant chaque reposoir pour prier et chanter, puis retourne à l'église. Fête du Saint-Sacrement ou du Corps du Christ instituée par le pape Urbain IV, en 1264, sur les instances de Ste-Julienne. Le but de cette fête est de dire solennellement à Dieu la reconnaissance pour tous les bienfaits qu'est le pain eucharistique.
La Fête-Dieu est un jour férié à Fribourg. la Fête-Dieu, Fête du Saint-Sacrement ou Corpus Christi est célébrée le jeudi qui suit la Trinité, soit 60 jours après Pâques. Actuellement, le nom officiel de la fête est Solennité de la Fête-Dieu à Fribourg .
plan
satellite

---

---

min.-°Cmax.-°C

Prévisions météo pour
---
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C
------°C---°C---°C

Recherche et webcodes

Ce site est votre ASSISTANT PERSONNEL: en quelques clics, vous composerez votre séjour dans notre région à votre image !

Que vous planifiez une visite demain de Paris ou de Sydney l'année prochaine, vous maximiserez votre séjour avec nos propositions d’activités et d’hébergements sélectionnés selon votre profil.

Prêt à définir vos intérêts et les expériences insolites que vous aimeriez vivre dans notre région ?

Que vous envisagiez une escapade romantique ou un voyage mémorable en famille, que vous soyez un oiseau de nuit ou un adepte des sommets avant le lever du jour, vous serez surpris par la pertinence de nos suggestions.

Routard

Jetez un coup d’oeil à nos suggestions personnalisées complémentaires autour de votre destination avant de tracer votre route sur la carte ou la grille des propositions. Elles sont synchronisées pour répondre à vos préférences de consultation.